Unorthodox by Deborah Feldman

Unorthodox

By Deborah Feldman

  • Release Date: 2012-02-14
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
Score: 4
4
From 84 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

Reviews

  • Inspirational!

    5
    By Shanno1072
    What a journey to witness through this book. Watching the author grit her teeth and break out of what appears to be a horrible, suffocating and truly disappointing culture is remarkable. I honestly thought that there were more harsh and ridiculous groups in modern society, who can best be described as "cults", plain and simple. This is now I see, only because others are more public about their ways. Great thanks to the author, as I see the Hasidic community in such a different light now. And as a woman, they (particularly the men) aren't worthy of my general respect for other humans. Enjoy being an author, Miss Feldman, you deserve the title. Your command of the language and all of its subtleties convinces me that I would read one of your future titles. Congratulations on your freedom, and lovely son!
  • Wow!

    5
    By beaglenose
    What a great read! Her story is compelling and her writing keeps you turning the pages.
  • Sirius XM Dr. radio...

    5
    By SopranoLady
    ...interviewed Deborah last week. What an amazing story. I downloaded her book that same day. Her autobiography is gripping, and goes into great detail about the branch of ultra-conservative Judaism in which she was raised. What resonated with me the most was that her writing was full of grace, temperance and forgiveness for those in her sect that had wronged her, or otherwise prevented her from leading the full life she longed to live.
  • Wonderfully

    5
    By Val Esau
    I really enjoyed this book, the history of the people and the courage of the author. You should be very proud of the book. Hope we will see this as a movie one day.
  • Good read

    4
    By Jill Davies
    Enjoyable and fascinating to learn about the community she came from.
  • Download problem

    4
    By Dinovf1
    Just downloaded the book and I only got 42 pages.

keyboard_arrow_up