The Upside of Irrationality by Dr. Dan Ariely

The Upside of Irrationality

By Dr. Dan Ariely

  • Release Date: 2010-06-01
  • Genre: Business & Personal Finance
Score: 3.5
3.5
From 24 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

Reviews

  • Like many sequels, it's not as good as the first

    3
    By Jimmy daPooh
    Overall, this book is good, but readers have to get past the personality of the author which is decidedly present in every paragraph. Sometimes I wish he'd just "spit it out" and get to the point. Other times I wish he'd elaborate with far more detail. On this basis, perhaps the flow is good. If you don't mind personal anecdotes which border on extended navel gazing (and I don't) then you'll have no trouble finishing the book, if, on the other hand, you can't stand "when I was a child..." then just keep moving on. This is not a vulgarized presentation of academic research. It's more of a cathartic attempt to explore his own decisions. If you loved "Predictably Irrational" then you will like this book. Sadly, there is less than more to love about it.

keyboard_arrow_up